We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Monash Sessions: Vince Jones

by The Monash Sessions: Vince Jones

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Monash Sessions: Vince Jones via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      $15 AUD or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $15 AUD  or more


Budgie 03:58
Rainbow Cake 04:16
Jettison 05:18
Blue 06:05
Union Man 05:18
Just Time 04:09
Wonderworld 05:26


Jazzhead is thrilled to announce the new release by Vince Jones, The Monash Sessions.

Vince Jones' Artist in Residence joins the esteemed list of artists who have recorded with the Sir Zelman Cowan School of Music at Monash University. Jones is an Australian musical icon and features one of the most recognisable voices and distinctive phrasing he has influenced legions of singers across the nation.

The recording plays host to live and studio recordings of the elite music students collaborating with Vince and includes guest performances from Sam Keevers and Rob Burke. The majority of compositions are penned by Vince, spanning 30 years of recordings and includes two tunes from The Great American Songbook; always a staple in Vince’s repertoire. Vince’s compositions include fan favourites such as Jettison, This is The Woman, Union Man and Wonder World.

Jones’ lyrics are at times commentaries on social issues with a meaning and relevance to the Vince Jones narrative; a story that is now influencing a new generation of young musicians.

Vince Jones The Monash Sessions; a real joy to hear.


released August 8, 2014


This is the Woman - arranged by James Mustafa
Union Man - arranged by Jordan Murray

Budgie, Jettison
Bass - Joshua Manusama
Drums - Keiran Rafferty
Piano - Joel Trigg
Guitar - Tom Biffin
Tenor Sax - Paul Cornelius
Alto Sax - Liam Werrett

Blame It On My Youth, This Is The Woman, Union Man

Bass - Jordan Tarento
Drums - Rohan Moore
Piano - Daniel Mougerman
Guitar - Jonathan Skourletos
Alto Sax - Joe McEvily
Trumpet - Niran Dasika

Monash University Vocal Ensemble - Directed by Jacqueline Gawler
Paloma Ellis-Vega, Christina Serafy, Stephanie Macetta, Ella Patinson, Lauren Irwin-Ray, Jack Foy, Amber Ferraro, Tanya George, Alex Vella-Horne, Luke Stevenson, Imy Dale, Rebecca Barbie, Mikaela Brownley, Lizzie Anne, Dominique Garrard, Yu Lin, Katani La Rocca, Grace Cordell, Sarah Turner, Stephanie Abbott, Siobhan Louise Barry, Merrily Hansen, Sebastian Smart, Clary Riven, Andrew Masutti, Rachel Fegan, Ethan Brivik, Sarah Aarons, Tiffany Leung, Ido Zamir, Claire Howells, Elizabeth Miller, Lillian Albazi, Heidi Lupprian, Marceau Camille, Lily Zhang, Jonathan Wright.

Wonderworld, Betweeen Your Eyes, Rainbow Cake

Bass - Oscar Neyland
Drums - Chris Cameron
Piano - Sam Keevers
Guitar - Tom Mansfield
Trumpet - Brae Grimes
Alto Sax - Josh Kelly
Tenor Sax - Steven Byth


Piano - Sam Keevers
Tenor Sax - Robert Burke

Just in Time
Duet with Sam Keevers - piano


all rights reserved



Jazzhead Melbourne, Australia

The very best in Australian Jazz CDs. Jazzhead was established to release great new Australian Jazz in its various forms by Joe Camilleri and Andrew Walker. Concentrating on the progressive sounds of jazz while maintaining general accessibility.

From its inception, Jazzhead has pursued excellence in music and provided an outlet for great work of contemporary jazz.
... more

contact / help

Contact Jazzhead

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like The Monash Sessions: Vince Jones, you may also like: